November 26, 2015

She turned her can'ts into cans, and dreams into plans.

Today was the best day of my life!


Today, 26. 11. 2015, was the day of my graduation! Not only did I make it to Edinburgh University after all the struggles that I faced, kept going between work and exams and lectures and stress and life, I also finished! I did it. 

It was a beautiful day. Sunny, which does not happen often in Scotland. 

My mom, and my sister came to Scotland for my graduation too. And I had my friends with me. And I was wearing this amazing royal blue dress ala Blair Waldorf style. Life is so good! Since I got the results on the beginning of the month of November, I just couldn't contain my happiness. I did it. Life is so good. I invested, and worked for my education, and I came out as a winner! I did it. Sometimes I still struggled with accepting this, but there was really no struggle left after this day.

I walked up the stage, and in that moment it hit me that I might have been a bit nervous. And, then they called my name and everything was a haze. Really. I swear I didn't even feel the hit with the ancient hat! But the woman in that moment said "Congratulations Nea" and I was all of a sudden back in the moment. Grounded. Woah. And, I said "Thank you" and I meant it. I had another 6 meters to walk, and in the middle of it I stopped. I turned around to look at my mom, and I suddenly saw all these people. The entire hall full of people. And that was the moment it actually hit me. I did it. I did it. Me. It's mine and noone will ever be able to take this away from me. And, I opened my mouth and what it came out was a loud "Mom, I did it!" I waved (aimed as Kate Middleton style, came out as an overly excited wave) and left the stage. It was exhilarating. 


The final speech was really nice. They told us that now we are equipped with knowledge, and we are going to go in the world and make great things. That, we are going to shape the future of society. Future leaders of the world. Wow, in that moment I almost cried. Cause everything I did in life led me to that moment. All the sleepless nights, all the struggling, all the alcohol, all the drama, all the tears, all the sweat, all the blood, the counselling sessions, all the time and money - was fucking worth it. I am so proud of myself. And, maybe for the first time ever, I felt I deserved it. 


Thank you so much to all my friends, and family who supported me on this long journey. And, a big thank you to my blog (for all the emotional outbursts that I had a place to express), and my followers, who followed me and cheered for me on this path. Thank you.



November 15, 2015

I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson Review

I'll Give You the Sun
by Jandy Nelson
Published on September 16th 2014
Dial Books, 371 pages

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell.

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.


Goodreads.com description

“Reality is crushing. The world is a wrong-sized shoe. 
How can anyone stand it?”

Sadly I never wrote a review about it, but let me tell you that The Sky Is Everywhere, is one of the most beautiful books ever written. Jandy Nelson builds up her books with such beautiful writing is astonishing, really. And always, always about very important and tragic things that could happen to any of us.

November 09, 2015

Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta Review

Saving Francesca 
by Melina Marchetta
Published on May 9th 2006
Knopf Books for Young Readers, 243pages


A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship with humor and heart, perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Lauren Myracle.

Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian’s, a boys' school that pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom. Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player. The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about.

Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca—until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is. Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life and—hardest of all—herself.


- Goodreads.com description

“It's a weird smile, but it reaches his eyes and I bottle it. 
And I put it in my ammo pack that's kept right next to my soul 
and Justine's spirit and Siobhan's hope and Tara's passions. 
Because if I'm going to wake up one morning and not be able
 to get out of bed, I'm going to need everything I've got to 
fight this disease that could be sleeping inside of me.”

Oh my god. I just finished this book and I am shattered. The FEELS. All these feels, I am overwhelmed. I read Jellicoe Road awhile ago, and I remember that I thought that Melina Marchetta was a total genius, and one of the best authors I have ever encountered. I was right then, and well, I am right again. 

This book is just wonderfully beautiful.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...